Think Pink

When I was a little girl, I was slightly obsessed with the color pink.

Whenever we went out for ice cream, I always ordered strawberry, not because I liked the flavor, but simply because I liked the color.  It was strange and somewhat subconscious, but I was always drawn to the color pink.

DSCN0415

For one of my very first Easters, my parents took me to my grandparents’ church for an Easter egg hunt.  All the kids were scurrying around trying to scoop up as many eggs as possible.  Much to my parents’ surprise, their little 2 and 1/2 year old only wanted to pick up pink candy!  My basket was filled with only pink.  They tried to help me out by adding other colors but it did no good–I was stuck on pink.

Although my love for pink has become more subdued over the years, ocassionally it resurfaces, so when Easter rolled around, how could I pass up the opportunity to make a pink ice cream?

DSCN0413

Strawberry-Sour Cream Ice Cream

Since we have slightly outgrown Easter egg hunts, in more recent years we have taken to hunting roses. My grandparents live in the country where my grandfather grows and hybridizes roses. Every year around Easter time we enjoy gathering the myriad of different colors and shapes and making bouquets.

CIMG5296

I love springtime. Not just because of all the beautiful flowers or delicious ice cream, but because of the hope that it brings. As we see the plants that looked utterly dead suddenly coming back to life, we are reminded not only of Jesus’ death and resurrection, but also of the spiritual resurrection that we have through Christ. This Easter, I not only celebrate Christ’s resurrection, but also the new life He has given me!

DSCN0396

Leave a Reply

