Pucker UP!!!

One of the great things about ice cream is that unless you had a very, very deprived childhood you have an amazing memory tied to it. Getting and ice cream from a truck at the beach or at an amusement park. Ice cream from the concession stand at a sports game, professional or little league.

Ninja Turtles Ice Cream

Who didn’t just cringe at the memory of actually liking all of this food coloring! You would get it everywhere and the gum eyes would melt and fall off the face! Getting ice creams was part of most outings in my family, while in England we would often get the soft serve cones with a flake in them when at the park for the day.

When in America, a day at the beach was not complete without ice cream. At the beach though, my favorite was not ice cream at all but the minute maid frozen lemonade things….

Delicious and refreshing, less messy food coloring though still plenty of sugar!
The super lemon ice cream we made took me right back to those wonderful days on the beach with my family. I was not expecting to enjoy it as much as I did since, while I liked the lemon speculous, it was not my favorite ice cream. Once I tasted it though it really did have so much lemon and yet was so creamy at the same time. I would argue it was better than the frozen lemonade cup!

We have an older apartment and our disposal often starts to smell so we always keep lemons on hand in the refrigerator.

We already talked about how Meredith took Ice-Cream to her coworkers; she has seven, I have about 30 so it takes a lot more ice cream! Every other month we have a group birthday party to boost moral and what not. We had one batch of ice cream in the freezer and we had lots of lemons so that is what we choose to make as a second batch for the party.

And as you can guess it used a lot of lemons!!! We keep them in the fridge and so my hands were SUPER cold as I was squeezing the lemons for this super lemon ice cream. I would suggest, if you are going to make this that you make sure to strain out the seeds cause you don’t want any in there by mistake.

Anyways, squeeze the lemons, add sugar and blend….. then make the standard custard and blend again, chill and churn. ”

“Easy peasy, lemon squeezy” I will say though that this phase is incorrect; I would say the hardest part of this was squeezing out the lemons and making sure they were completely juiced.

Since this was for my coworkers and I wanted to impress them and make it go farther, we also made Marshmallow sauce!

Please note Meredith’s vintage candy thermometer

We got to used antique candy thermometer to heat the sugar and the corn syrup to the correct temperature and then we whipped it into egg whites with vanilla. We realized after we had made it that it was supposed to be served immediately! We had a good 12 hours before the party but as it sat it just turned into real marshmallows so it worked out OK even though it wasn’t a sauce!

My coworkers loved it and many said it tasted like lemon meringue pie when eaten with the “sauce.”

Leave a Reply

