Raspberry Swirl – in Honor of Dr. Seuss

Once upon a time, it was Dr. Seuss’ Birthday!!

Dr. Seuss is probably one of my favorite authors, as you can see above.  He never ceases to amaze me.  Only a true genius could take silly children’s stories and make them so, so much more than that.  He was truly one of a kind.

So, to celebrate the man who has brought so much silliness and so much meaning to life, what better way than to make ice cream??  Now, I realize Raspberry-Swirl Ice Cream may not be the most Seussical ice cream there ever was, but from the list of options it just seemed like the best fit.  The swirl of fun color with a hidden element of adult (vodka) matched the spirit of a Dr. Seuss book.

Now, in order to make this ice cream tribute, I had to procure the aforementioned vodka.  I did not know this, but apparently alcohol does not freeze, and is therefore added to frozen fruity mixtures to keep them from going icy.  So, off I set to go and make my first-ever alcoholic purchase.

I have to admit, I was looking forward to it.  You see, everyone I meet ALWAYS asks me how old I am.  After I tell them, they all inevitably say, “Wow, you look like you are 16!  You will be very happy about that when you are older.”  Everytime.  Same thing.  So, as you can imagine I was expecting the cashier to tell me there was no way I was old enough to be buying that sort of thing.

We pulled up to the store just 10 minutes before closing.  We began rapidly perusing the vast selection of vodka.  We found the tiny little bottle.  We ran up to the register to make our purchase…and that was it!  No carding.  No questions.  Nothing.  Oh, so very anticlimactic.

The ice cream, however, was not anticlimactic.  It was utterly amazing.  I would eat it with a fox.  I would eat it in a box. I would eat it anywhere!  It was that delicious!

In honor of Dr. Seuss, I leave you with this quote:

“So…
be your name Buxbaum or Bixby or Bray
or Mordecai Ali Van Allen O’Shea,
you’re off to Great Places!
Today is your day!
Your mountain is waiting.
So…get on your way!”

Leave a Reply

